Monday, September 8, 2014

Update -- A Flurry of Covers

After the launch of Vengeance of Sundown (Lucas Fume #1) I have gone a little quiet here--I figured that would happen.  It's been a busy year, and the blog gets the least of my attention--which is always the problem with blogs--it takes stamina and a strong idea to keep them going.  As we go into fall, I'm rethinking the blog format (for the thousandth time) we'll see what happens.  End of the year can be busier than normal, as I continue my freelance indexing practice full time, and write as much as I can.  I'm glad to say that my last big writing deadline for the year is in sight, and I'm planning on taking a short break (after I finish a short story that's banging away in the back of my head--which means there's never really break, and that's okay).

So, for the first time, here are some cover reveals of upcoming projects.  Some of them aren't complete, final, but close enough:

My short story, "The Adventure of the Rounded Ocelot," will appear in this anthology (published by Tyrus Books).  A first for me--a Sherlock Holmes pastiche, that I was happy to write.  It will be published October 31, and can be preordered here.

I have another short story, "How to Swim," set to appear in the anthology, Indy Writes Books.  This one will publish in November.  The proceeds of this book will help fund Indy Reads, a literacy program based in Indianapolis.  The book features stories from Indiana writers such as John Green, Dan Wakefield, Ben Winters, and others.  For more information about purchasing, sponsoring, or donating, to a great cause, go here.

The Italian publisher, Editoriale Cosmo, recently bought and published The Rattlesnake Season (Josiah Wolfe, Texas Ranger #1).  This is my first translation, and I'm thrilled that Josiah Wolfe is being introduced to a new audience.  I'm not sure how to tell you to get your hands on this one, but I'll let you know as soon as I find out.  Unfortunately, there are no plans to write any more Josiah Wolfe books at the moment.  I get asked that question a lot.  All six books are still in print, and available through the normal avenues.

Here's the fist look at the cover for See Also Murder (Seventh Street Books), my second mystery novel.  This one will be published in May, 2015.  It's available for preorder now here.  Set in North Dakota in 1964, this novel combines both of my passions, indexing and writing, for the first time in novel-length.  More to come soon. This novel is based on the Derringer-nominated short story of the same title that was originally published in 2006.

Here's another first look, not the final cover.  Escape from Hangtown (Lucas Fume #2--Berkley Books) is set to appear late summer/early fall, 2015, and continues Lucas Fume's quest for freedom.  This time around, Lucas sets out to clear Zeke Henry of all the charges against him, so his friend and partner can enjoy the same freedom that he does.

And, finally, coming in January, 2016, A Thousand Falling Crows (Seventh Street Books).  A new mystery, set in Texas in 1933, and features Texas Ranger Sonny Burton who is pulled into a mystery after a near-fatal encounter with Bonnie and Clyde,  This novel is also based on another previously published short story, "Shadow of a Crow" (Beat To A Pulp Press), and was originally published in 2012. (Note that the above picture is not a cover, just a picture I took of a crow's eye.)

As usual, I'll post more news when I have it.  Thanks for stopping by.  ~~Larry


Tom Cochrun said...

Larry, it's great to see your productivity. I might add it is also inspirational.

Larry Sweazy said...

Thanks, Tom.

David Cranmer said...

Never slow down, Larry. Never slow down.

Larry Sweazy said...

Thanks, David. My neighbors think I'm retired because I rarely leave the house, and I mow my yard in the afternoon through the week.