Saturday, June 30, 2012

THE COUGAR'S PREY wins the 2012 Will Rogers Medallion Award for Western Fiction

The Cougar's Prey, Josiah Wolfe, Texas Ranger #4 has won the 2012 Will Rogers Medallion Award for Western Fiction.  This is the second year a row the award has been bestowed on the Josiah Wolfe series.  The Scorpion Trail (#2), won the same award in 2011.

The Will Roger Medallion Award is presented each year to those books that represent an Outstanding Achievement in the Publishing of Western Literature.  This book exemplifies the combination of excellent content, high production values and honoring of the Cowboy Heritage that the award was created to acknowledge.

Will Rogers was a respected writer as well as cowboy entertainer.  We hope and believe that the Will Rogers Medallion Award will help to expand the heritage of literature which honors the traditions and values of the American Cowboy, which Will did so much to embody and demonstrate.  The Medallion Award was created initially to encourage the continued upgrading of the quality of published books of Cowboy Poetry.
Other categories have been added to honor a wide range of Western Literature, including Western Fiction.


Bill Crider said...

Congrats, Larry!

Matthew P. Mayo said...

Well done, sir. Keep on!

Tom Cochrun said...

This is great news. Congrats!

Larry D. Sweazy said...

Thanks Bill, Matt, and Tom...

Tom Roberts said...

A doff of the cap to a great read and an award that is well deserved, Larry.

Tom Roberts
Black Dog books